Exchanging Experiences, Expanding Opportunities

IASPD 12 - What is Brazil’s “Cadastro Único” (Unified Registry) for social programs and how does it work?

Date/Time:
Wednesday, September 3, 2014 - 11:00 to 12:30

WHAT IS BRAZIL’S “CADASTRO ÚNICO” (UNIFIED REGISTRY) SOCIAL PROGRAMS AND HOW DOES IT WORK?

 

The Brazilian Unified Registry was the main tool that enabled the Government of Brazil to identify the most pressing needs of the extremely poor segment of our population, and to deliver the programs and services required by this population. After the Bolsa Família Program, the Unified Registry was consolidated as the tool for identifying Brazil´s low-income population. Today it plays a vital role in the functioning of country´s Social Protection System.

 

Join us in a virtual discussion with Joana Mostafa, Director of Cadastro Único at the Ministry of Social Development and Fight Against Hunger and Margaret Grosh, Acting Practice Manager for Social Protection and Labor for the World Bank, who will explain what CadÚnico is all about, how data is collected, what stakeholders are involved in the process, etc. During the webinar alternatives for knowledge exchange in the implementation of unified registries for beneficiaries will also be discussed. Please note that this Seminar will be conducted in Spanish.

Tabs

Details

Wednesday September 3rd, 11:0 AM (Washington DC time)

 

Bogotá 10 AM / Brasilia 12 PM / Buenos Aires 12 PM / San Salvador 9 AM / Guatemala 9 AM / La Paz 11 AM / Mexico DF 10 AM / Santiago 11 AM 

To participate in the webinar, register at the following link:

https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/3636345897877784066

 Organized by:

  • Inter-American Social Protection Network
  • Brazil Learning Initiative for a World without Poverty (WWP):
    • Institute of Applied Economic Research (IPEA) linked to the Secretariat of Strategic Affairs (SAE);
    • Ministry of Social Development and Fight against Hunger (MDS);
    • International Policy Centre for Inclusive Growth (IPC-IG) of the United Nations Development Program (UNDP);
    • World Bank.

 

Presentations
Organizer(s)
Organizer :
  • IASPN, WWP, IPEA, SAE, MDS, IPC-IG, UNDP, World Bank
Resources
Document(s):

English abstract of the 12 edition of the Inter-American Social Protection Dialogue Series "What is Brazil’s “Cadastro Único” (Unified Registry) for social programs and how does it work?"