Exchanging Experiences, Expanding Opportunities

IASPD 8 - "The current discussion on Social Protection in Latin America and its political relevance"

Date/Time:
Wednesday, April 2, 2014 - 10:30 to 12:00

 

“THE CURRENT STATUS OF THE DISCUSSION ON SOCIAL PROTECTION IN LATIN AMERICA”

 

In the framework of the Inter-American Social Protection Network (IASPN), the OAS, in conjunction with the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC) will organize the webinar "The current discussion on Social Protection in Latin America and its political relevance ".

 

It is essential to reflect on how to conceptualize and analyze Social Protection in the region. Among other things, this applies to the issues that are prioritized, the interpretative patterns proposed and to the proposals about how and where to move. It attempts to clarify what ideas prevail in the design and redesign of social and labor policies in order to address social risks. 

 

Following the recent publication of ECLAC's Social Panorama 2013, in this occasion there will be a discussion on this issue from three angles, against the background of a mapping of the current situation of social protection in the region. This webinar will be conducted in Spanish only.

 

  • Panelists: Ana Sojo, Olga Lucia Acosta y Verónica Amarante (CEPAL)
  • Moderator: Alexandra Barrantes (OEA-RIPSO)

Tabs

Details

LOCAL TIMES

Bogotá 9:30 AM

Brasilia 11:30 AM

Buenos Aires 11:30 AM

El Salvador 8:30 AM

Guatemala 8:30 AM

La Paz 10:30 AM

Mexico DF 8:30 AM

Presentations
Organizer(s)
Organizer :
  • Organization of the American States, Inter-American Social Protection Network, ECLAC
Partner affiliation:
Resources
Document(s):

Presentación de Olga Lucía Acosta, Asesora Regional, CEPAL en el Seminario Técnico "Retos del sistema pensional y desarrollo de los beneficios económicos periódicos en Colombia", realizado el 10 de diciembre de 2013.

Artículo publicado en Revista Carta Financiera de ANIF, Marzo 2014 por la Dra. Olga Lucía Acosta, Asesora Regional de CEPAL